Forum

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.





Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Having trouble updating and setting up
parker_t
Newbie
Posts: 20
Permalink
parker_t
Post Having trouble updating and setting up
on: December 17, 2017, 01:53
Quote

Hi Sandy and all others... I have just gotten my PolargraphSD out and dusted off from many years ago. I have V1.6 of the polargraph shield for the Arduino Mega.
I've successfully upload the new (2017.11.01) firmware from source code through Arduino IDE 1.8.5... at least it ran all the way through without error.
I've successfully setup Processing 2.2.1 and compiled the Controller from source code... again without error codes.
When I run the Controller... it comes up without any problems... but it does not let me make any inputs on the setup tab... when I go to select the com port for the Arduino... it shows up on the dropdown (Com5) but when I click on it to select... nothing happens??? Oh... this is all running under Windows 10. Also, cannot enter machine size or anything else.
In addition, when the PolargraphSD shield is hooked up to computer via USB... the screen lights up white... but nothing else... no menu options.
Are there issues with the latest software/firmware and the older v1.6 shields?
Would appreciate any help/suggestions you or anyone might have.
Thanks...
Tom

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Having trouble updating and setting up
on: December 17, 2017, 16:14
Quote

Hi Tom, welcome back 🙂

Things have changed a little since that time (2013!) but not a lot. Electrically, the board is the same as the modern Polarshields, but the LCD might have changed. I'm not sure if yours is a 2.2" screen or a 2.4" screen. If it's the 2.4" screen, then you can try the .hex file in this commit: https://github.com/euphy/polargraph_server_polarshield/tree/a3fd0956e143db015205d33b47f19a295ccee749 (and see https://github.com/euphy/polargraph/wiki/Uploading-precompiled-binary-hex-files for how to upload precompiled binaries if you need it).

If it's the 2.2" screen, then you might try https://github.com/euphy/polargraph_server_polarshield/blob/749a526b2a250b17975e7cc48d6b8b612176dbc5/polargraph_server_polarshield_22.cpp.hex (download the "raw" version).

There's been a handful of changes since then, none of them are dealbreakers, but if you want the latest yes you'll have to compile it.

Change the LCD setting here:

//Uncomment the following line to use a 2.2" panel
//#define LCD_TYPE ITDB22

(https://github.com/euphy/polargraph_server_polarshield/blob/master/polargraph_server_polarshield.ino#L62-L63)

And you'd got to change the touch-screen calibration setting in the UTouchCD.h file that's in the UTouch library:

The UTouch library needs a couple of calibration values - these
ones are the ones I use for the ITDB02-2.2 inch screen.
#define CAL_X 0x039281CCUL
#define CAL_Y 0x03A2C1DEUL
#define CAL_S 0x000AF0DBUL

Put them in libraries/UTouch/UTouchCD.h

https://github.com/euphy/polargraph_server_polarshield/blob/master/polargraph_server_polarshield.ino#L31-L42

I _think_ that's all that needs changing in the firmware.

Now, the controller is a bit more unusual - that really just should work. Your report isn't really helpful though, when you say "nothing happens" what do you mean? The button doesn't change, flash or respond in any way, or you mean that it doesn't have the effect you're expecting?

I suppose I'm asking for 1) What did you do, 2) what did you expect to happen, 3) what actually happened?

You can't enter machine size or anything else... Same questions - how are you entering the machine size, what do you expect to happen, what's actually happening?

Do any buttons work? The serial port button must be. Which ones?

(One last thing - maximise your window then save the properties file and restart... Sometimes there's a problem whereby button location doesn't get updated when the window gets resized.)

Good luck!

sn

parker_t
Newbie
Posts: 20
Permalink
parker_t
Post Re: Having trouble updating and setting up
on: December 17, 2017, 22:04
Quote

Hi Sandy... thanks for the quick reply.

First... I've uploaded the firmware (your link above)... went without error from the hex file. The Polargraph shield now displays the menu (in red)... but touch "keys" are not active... no response at all. I have the v.1.3 2.4TFT LCD screen. When the USB cable is first plugged in to the arduino/shield... the servo "glitches" but that's the only activity... motors are not on or locked.

Next the Controller... I'm starting the Controller by compiling it through Processing 2.2.1... and it loads fine. Menu tabs are all active. Selecting the Setup tab brings up all options. No serial connection in red at top of screen... and queue starts up when clicked on. Then when I click on Serial Port selection I see com5 (the port the arduino is connected to) as a choice... but, when clicked on... there is no response from the controller other than just showing the com5 option in the sub-menu. No connection is made or any other dialog is shown.
When I click on machine width (for example)... the little blue arrow blinks but no other response is seen. I'm 'assuming' that I should be able to enter a new width at this point... but, nothing.
All other tabs appear to be active... I can switch to Input, Rove, Trace, etc. I can load an image and see it in the draw window... move it around, etc... see the image in the trace window.
Also, I see the controller sending out code through the queue... but there is no connection.
I've recycled the computer, the arduino/shield, the software... but, to no affect or change.
Further suggestions???
Thanks Sandy...

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Having trouble updating and setting up
on: December 17, 2017, 22:40
Quote

Aha that's good news - the number-based controls for width etc (the ones with the blue triangles at the side) are number spinners - click and drag up and down to change the value.

Two things to try to troubleshoot the connection:
1) With the Polargraph Controller closed, what do you see in the Serial Monitor in the Arduino IDE? (Set the baud rate to 57600.) You should see something like a bit of boot-up text, and then a regular message coming from the Arduino saying "READY_200" every 5 seconds or so.

That proves the Arduino is running fine. Remember that two things can't connect to one serial port at the same time so if you're running the controller you can't connect through the Serial Monitor, and vice versa.

2) It's good that you're running this in Processing too, makes troubleshooting easier. What do you see in the console in Processing? The white-on-black bottom half of the Processing IDE should show a bit of startup stuff too ("Starting Polargraph controller ... etc"), and eventually will have something like

Serial ports available on your machine:
COM3 COM4
About to connect to serial port in slot 0
Get serial port no: 0
Successfully connected to port COM3

(That's what's on mine.) It'd be interesting to see what yours says on startup.

Pop open the serial port chooser sub window and choose anything except COM5 and wait a moment - it takes a couple of seconds to change the port. Close the serial port chooser then pop it up again and choose COM5.

Last thing - I want to clarify that you always have "no serial connection" in red at the top of the window. But that you can click on the header at the top of the command queue (it says "CommandQueue: QUEUE PAUSED ...") and it goes green and changes to "... QUEUE RUNNING".

You said that you can see the controller sending out code through the queue though ... if that's happening then the connection is working. I'm confused about whether the queue is actually running or now.

sn

parker_t
Newbie
Posts: 20
Permalink
parker_t
Post Re: Having trouble updating and setting up
on: December 17, 2017, 23:50
Quote

Okay... we're getting there... up and running... the controller is doing it's job... has connected to com5 and is successfully sending code to the arduino/polarshield...
But, still one problem to go... I don't have stepper motor movement or touch screen functioning??? I know code is getting to the polarshield because the pen lift/down is functioning... however motors are not activated...
I notice a jumper on the shield board near the external power connector... should that be jumpered? Also, when pushing the reset button on the shield board... I hear a brief "clunk" from the left stepper... then nothing... both stay freewheeling without power.
Thanks again Sandy for all this help...
Tom

parker_t
Newbie
Posts: 20
Permalink
parker_t
Post Re: Having trouble updating and setting up
on: December 18, 2017, 02:28
Quote

Some additional follow-up...
I've checked the stepper motors with an adafruit shield and they do work... wiring is correct (as near as I can tell). Again, the pen lift servo is the only thing the board seems to be operating.
Question: Do you by chance have a copy of the polarshield v1.6 firmware... I could try re-installing that firmware... it was working before and so was the touch screen.
Many thanks for all the help... T.

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Having trouble updating and setting up
on: December 18, 2017, 21:37
Quote

Some code:

I think this is the code from the time that you got your machine: https://github.com/euphy/polargraph_server_polarshield/tree/00ea201e29cae13594ed27e1b949bd375dd7ff5f

I'd try polargraph_server_polarshield_24.cpp.hex

What kind of power supply are you using? Remember you plug +7v into the jack socket on the Polarshield, NOT the connector on the Arduino itself.

You need to send a "set home" command to lock the motors.

sn

parker_t
Newbie
Posts: 20
Permalink
parker_t
Post Re: Having trouble updating and setting up
on: December 18, 2017, 21:59
Quote

Hello again...
Using 7.5volt and it is plugged into the shield (not the arduino)... should the jumper be on or off?
Set home command does lock the motors... but no motor movement when I attempt to draw an image through the Trace tab.
I will attempt to upload the older firmware you just sent... and then get back to you.

parker_t
Newbie
Posts: 20
Permalink
parker_t
Post Re: Having trouble updating and setting up
on: December 18, 2017, 22:42
Quote

Okay... loaded the old firmware... now have green touch menu selections on the 2.4TFT and they are active... I can move the pen and jog the motors.
Through the controller... I can move the gondola by "move direct" commands on the Input tab... and "return to home". But, I'm only getting pen up/down movements when I try to draw... What am I not doing right???
We're almost there... I can feel it...

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Having trouble updating and setting up
on: December 18, 2017, 22:54
Quote

You've uploaded the machine spec?

parker_t
Newbie
Posts: 20
Permalink
parker_t
Post Re: Having trouble updating and setting up
on: December 18, 2017, 23:05
Quote

Duh... that's it! Just did a quick vector draw to verify... all worked.
Thank you for all your help and patience Sandy... you're the greatest!

P.S. Can you explain "area" and "frame" to me from the input tab.

kongorilla
Pro
Posts: 362
Permalink
kongorilla
Post Re: Having trouble updating and setting up
on: December 19, 2017, 00:57
Quote

@parker_t - the selected area is what gets drawn, and you can store those coordinates as a "frame", allowing you to re-select the same area repeatedly (with SELECT FRAME)

@Sandy - A memory jogger for you - Last January, I similarly upgraded my old machine to the latest version (which was 1.3.1 at the time, red menu), and my touchscreen wouldn't work - the console showed anywhere I clicked returning weird button values. When I went a version earlier (1.3, green menu), the touchscreen worked as normal.
P.S. I'm tempted to make a custom t-shirt for you that says, "You've uploaded the machine spec?", but then you'd have to constantly explain it to people.

parker_t
Newbie
Posts: 20
Permalink
parker_t
Post Re: Having trouble updating and setting up
on: December 19, 2017, 01:06
Quote

Hi Konggorilla... thanks for the reply...
Is there a "comprehensive" guide/tutorial on what each item in a particular tab does... and how to use???

Pages: [1]
Mingle Forum by cartpauj
Version: 1.0.34 ; Page loaded in: 0.028 seconds.