Forum

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.





Pages: [1]
Author Topic: 1.6.2 Wont work on MAC Pro
CSPURGEON
Newbie
Posts: 18
Permalink
Post 1.6.2 Wont work on MAC Pro
on: May 9, 2013, 01:33
Quote

So I went through the whole gamma of downloading and opening, to my surprise it was just an empty window as a controller. So yep Im now re installing the older version because, smart me deleted it before trying the new. But anyone have a fix for this? I have a show on Saturday and would love to show off the webcam gig.

Thanks in advance !

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: 1.6.2 Wont work on MAC Pro
on: May 9, 2013, 14:45
Quote

Hey Chris, I actually don't know what more I can do to get it working to be honest, getting webcams working through processing appears to be a dark art. Maybe mac folks have a bit more insight? Has anybody got it working on the mac?

sn

mike
Newbie
Posts: 5
Permalink
mike
Post Re: 1.6.2 Wont work on MAC Pro
on: May 9, 2013, 21:50
Quote

Hi Chris and Sandy,

I got it "partly" working using controller 1.62 on my MAC Pro Mountain Lion 10.8.3 using Processing 1.5.1. Problem on the MAC is that there is a issue with the 64bit java so that the webcam part do not run. Quick workaround for me (I don't use the webcam feature right now) was to comment some lines in the polargraphcontroller file (polargraphcontroller.pde):

Comment out: Line 580 - 593

// try
// {
// String[] cameras = Capture.list();
// if (cameras.length > 0) {
// liveCamera = new Capture(this, 640, 480, cameras[0]);
// //liveCamera.start();
// webcamEnabled = true;
// }
// }
// catch (Exception e)
// {
// println("Exception occurred trying to look for attached webcams. Webcam will not be used. " + e.getMessage());
// webcamEnabled = false;
// }

and add:
webcamEnabled = false;
right after the commented part.

Now it should run (compiling was never an issue). @Sandy maybe you want to add a switch and disable the webcam feature by default. This would at least ensure that the controller runs w/o the cam.
Hope this helps
Mike

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: 1.6.2 Wont work on MAC Pro
on: May 9, 2013, 22:02
Quote

Mike, good solution - maybe there is a halfway house after all. I assumed it was loading the libraries that was causing the issue, not the attempt to use camera. I realise _that_ was a solution to a different problem. Aha.

So I'll make a version that attempts to load the webcam only when prompted. If it crashes, well, I guess you just don't try again.

cheers!
sn

Pages: [1]
Mingle Forum by cartpauj
Version: 1.0.34 ; Page loaded in: 0.035 seconds.