Forum

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.





Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: Busy message after initiating controller...
hartman.26-
4
Newbie
Posts: 5
Permalink
Post Busy message after initiating controller...
on: November 30, 2015, 20:42
Quote

Hello,

New to the forum and trying to get a polargraph working. Running a Adafruit Motorshield v2 with Arduino Uno.

I've uploaded the firmware and I hear the servo moving when I initiate the controller software through Processing, but when I try to initiate the Queue I just get a busy message on the first command.

I am running on Mac OSX 10.10.5.

I was at first trying to run the program on Windows 10, but then that stopped working as well, same busy message.

I tried recompiling the firmware in Ardunio 1.6.5 and everything checked out, but just getting the busy signal once the controller is opened.

I've searched the forum and saw that this "busy" message might have been happening in the past and I tried to click "upload machine spec" first, but still getting the busy.

Any help would be very appreciated, thanks.
Image

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: November 30, 2015, 20:53
Quote

HEllo! Use ctrl-C in the controller to open the console (or cmd-c on mac?), and then send your command and let us know what the console tells you.

(The console is a raw feed of the communications that are going between the controller and the machine. Should tell us what's up.)

Which version of firmware are you using?

sn

hartman.26-
4
Newbie
Posts: 5
Permalink
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: November 30, 2015, 21:01
Quote

Hi Sandy,

I can't seem to open the console. I have the polargraph controller open in Processing 2.2.1, but Cmd-C or Ctrl-C does not seem to open anything up?

I am using the firmware labeled 2015-11-10.

Thanks for the help.

-N

hartman.26-
4
Newbie
Posts: 5
Permalink
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: November 30, 2015, 21:11
Quote

I thought it might be a Java issue...I have version 8 Update 66.

Not sure if it makes a difference.

-N

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: November 30, 2015, 22:27
Quote

Gah! I think I disabled the console in the last release! The move to Processing v2.

Ok, the other way to do this:

Close down the controller.
Open the Arduino IDE and open the serial monitor, 57600 baud rate.
Watch it and see what is coming up.

If you see a "READY_200" appearing every four seconds or so, then that's good.
In response, try entering C02,0.8,END and see what the response is.

sn

hartman.26-
4
Newbie
Posts: 5
Permalink
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: November 30, 2015, 22:43
Quote

So I opened the serial monitor and got this:

POLARGRAPH ON!
Hardware: 1
MC_UNO
Loaded width:650
Loaded height:65
Loaded mmPerRev:nan
Loaded steps per rev:400
Loaded step multiplier:255
Loaded down pos:90
Loaded up pos:180
Recalc mmPerStep (nan), stepsPerMM (nan)
Recalc pageWidth in steps (-2147483648)
Recalc pageHeight in steps (-2147483648)
Estimated pre-scale: 2.81
Final pre-scale: 3
READY

But no recurring "Ready_200 messages". Tried sending the C02 message, but no response.

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: December 1, 2015, 00:07
Quote

Aha, READY is good, but it should repeat. If it doesn't repeat, it's usually a sign (I believe) that the board has run out of memory to store it's variables in. This is SRAM, and there's only 2k of it on an UNO.

The flash RAM that the program itself is stored in has room, but once the program starts to run, the volatile part runs out of space.

I think you can solve this, but it isn't much fun: Either turn off Vector drawing, or Pixel rendering to save space.

https://github.com/euphy/polargraph_server_a1/blob/master/polargraph_server_a1.ino#L87-L91 has the lines to comment out.

sn

hartman.26-
4
Newbie
Posts: 5
Permalink
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: December 1, 2015, 00:42
Quote

I commented out both the vector drawing and Pixel drawing, verified the sketch and got this//

Sketch uses 22,516 bytes (69%) of program storage space. Maximum is 32,256 bytes.
Global variables use 1,134 bytes (55%) of dynamic memory, leaving 914 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 2,048 bytes.

which seems fine, but once I loaded still no recurring ready messages. 🙁

devtty1
Newbie
Posts: 1
Permalink
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: January 25, 2016, 13:16
Quote

I found your post while searching for solutions to my problem. I'm running an arduino mega and RAMPS 1.4 with linux .... not quite the same 🙂 but I thought it worth mentioning that I was not getting the "READY" message more than once. I could send the C02 command but did not get a response either.

Once I commented out the line:
//#define USE_LCD
in the polargraph_server_polarshield.ino

my console started reporting "READY_200" about every couple of seconds.
I do not have an LCD attached to my setup.

I thought this might be helpful to your issue because you aren't getting the repeating "READY" message.

I hope this helps.

ianmcmill
Newbie
Posts: 8
Permalink
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: September 8, 2016, 20:09
Quote

Hello, I just found out this week about this cool polargraph.
I went from an Arduino Uno with a DK Electronics shield (adafruit v1 compatible) to Ramps 1.4. Commented out the two lines like it is said in the wiki.
The Uno ran "fine" but very jittery and jerky movements with like half a second inbetween each step. So I switched to a Ramps using A4988 drivers in 16th step.

I also get this Busy thing after connecting (servos are being released) and unpausing the queue.

I am running firmware: polargraph_server_polarshield_v2_2.4 from https://github.com/euphy/polargraph_server_polarshield/archive/v2.2.1.zip
Controller: 2.4.2 from https://github.com/euphy/polargraphcontroller/archive/v2.4.2.zip
This is my log from the Arduino Serial Monitor (my default.properties.txt looks different):

POLARGRAPH ON!
v1.3
Hardware: RAMPS14
Servo 4
Loaded machine width:9
Loaded machine height:8192
Loaded mm per rev:95.00
Loaded motor steps per rev:200
Loaded motor step multiplier:67
Loaded machine name:E
Loaded down pos:90
Loaded up pos:194
penWidth: 0.00
Recalc mmPerStep (0.01), stepsPerMM (141.05)
Recalc pageWidth in steps (1269)
Recalc pageHeight in steps (1155503)
Card failed, or not present
Released motors
READY_200
READY_200
READY_200
READY_200
READY_200
READY_200
READY_200
READY_200
READY_200
READY_200
READY_200

default.properties.txt:

#   ***  Polargraph properties file   ***  
#Thu Sep 08 21:04:46 CEST 2016
controller.pixel.samplearea=10
controller.pictureframe.position.y=976
controller.pictureframe.position.x=976
controller.testPenWidth.startSize=0.5
controller.machine.colour=969696
machine.motors.mmPerRev=122.0
controller.window.width=1078
controller.frame.colour=C80000
controller.image.position.y=916
controller.image.position.x=916
machine.motors.accel=400
controller.image.height=610
controller.machine.serialport=1
controller.window.height=687
controller.maxSegmentLength=2
controller.geomerative.polygonizerLength=1
machine.penlift.up=120
machine.penlift.down=0
controller.page.position.y=203
controller.vector.scaling=100
controller.page.position.x=303
controller.pictureframe.width=488
machine.step.multiplier=16
controller.grid.size=75.0
controller.testPenWidth.endSize=2
controller.pictureframe.height=488
controller.page.colour=DCDCDC
controller.testPenWidth.incrementSize=0.5
controller.image.width=610
machine.motors.stepsPerRev=200.0
machine.pen.size=0.8
controller.page.width=210
controller.pixel.mask.color=00FF00
controller.machine.baudrate=57600
controller.vector.minLineLength=2
machine.width=815
controller.geomerative.polygonizer=1
controller.page.height=297
controller.vector.position.y=0
controller.background.colour=646464
controller.image.filename=
controller.vector.position.x=0
controller.homepoint.y=237
controller.guide.colour=FFFFFF
machine.motors.maxSpeed=600
controller.homepoint.x=407
controller.density.preview.style=5
controller.pixel.scaling=1
controller.densitypreview.colour=000000
machine.height=900

Here is a screenshot. The last line in the debug window is written after clicking the queue unpause, obvioulsy.

Image

Any help is greatly appreciated! 😯 😯

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: September 8, 2016, 22:03
Quote

Hi looks like you haven't done an "upload machine spec", so the settings that are coming back from the machine are very weird.

You always need to do that if you change the machine settings in the controller.

sn

ianmcmill
Newbie
Posts: 8
Permalink
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: September 9, 2016, 09:20
Quote

I think I actually did the upload. Problem with that was, that it didn't upload correctly on the first try. After uploading the specs they were returned with odd values I haven't setup in the controller. After uploading a second time it worked. Same is with download specs.
Also it idles in BUSY once I start the queue. Everytime, except if I clear the queue after a fresh start. Then it says Polargraph ready on the top. But once I send any command like "upload machine specs" it BUSY idles with that command.

In the meantime I tried a different approach. I took the a1 firmware and configured it for a MEGA including setting pins for discrete stepper drivers in configuration.ino.
Compiled and uploaded went fine. Connecting as well. I got a READY_100 and the queue was processed completely. No BUSY this time. But the motors and the servo did not move/work despite I got a "command executed" + "READY_100".
I am using a 2A 12V wall adapter from a satellite dish receiver (Technisat) with 2x 0.4A steppers. I use this adapter also for powering a plotter a corexy plotter with two 1.3A steppers. So this should be fine.

Anyways. The motorshield v1 works fine. I should maybe stick to this and get to know it better.
Now I uploaded to the current polarshield firmware 1.3.1 again (96kb upload verified), opened a serial terminal and got a READY_200 in return. So far so good. Also the machine specs were the same (the correct onces) that I uploaded while running from the latest stable release a1 firmware. But when processing the queue, the BUSY idle struck me again.

I replaced the USB cable (6m) for a shorter one (40cm) (I tried two different) but to no avail. Also when being able to upload via the 6m cable and being able to run the adafruit/dk electronics motorshield 1.0 with the 6m cable, it should be fine.
I am looking forward for the polarshields becoming available again sometime but until you find the time to dive into the batch I wanted to use my spare hardware I have laying around.

ianmcmill
Newbie
Posts: 8
Permalink
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: September 10, 2016, 18:58
Quote

Well. For the last 4 days I compiled every polargraph firmware availbale on github with every possible combination imagineable possible. I tried the a1 firmware for UNO and MEGA. I tried the motor shield v1 on the UNO and MEGA and RAMPS 1.4 on the MEGA. I changed the pin for the stepper drivers to use the X and Y slot instead of the E1 slot. I tried putting my cat on the doorframe, teaching her to pull the beaded cords according to flashing LED codes. None of this worked. BUSY idle directly after unpausing the queue.
Then I wanted to see more debug and uncommented the three debug lines in the polarshield firmware. Arduino IDE serial monitor was flooded with dots so I closed it and fired up the polargraph controller which I compiled for mac osx. I also tried mac before and got the same BUSY thing, so I concluded it is the firmware or the arduino hardware.
So the controller is running. It connects to the arduino. I open the debug window. I unpause the queue and it runs. It simply runs. The motors move as they should. And I just think to myself....
Image

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: September 10, 2016, 20:47
Quote

Er ... all's well that ends well? (ducks and hides)

It's very frustrating, but I admit, turning the debug comms on would have been what I'd do. Er though I wouldn't have expected it to fix anything in itself.

I'm scratching my head a bit about what's going on. The machine clearly isn't stuck on busy (it's sending its READY... regularly), but the controller isn't recognising the READY.

Do you know what the console showed directly after the C02,0.8,END is sent?

It is weird, you're right. I enjoyed your post though 🙂

sn

ianmcmill
Newbie
Posts: 8
Permalink
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: September 10, 2016, 22:34
Quote

Thanks 🙂

The debug window in the processing-controller just showed "queue checked". Nothing else. I.E. the regularly READY is being sent before I unpause the queue directly after booting the arduino but stops when I unpause and then it just says queue checked and sits there.
Maybe, but only maybe and to me that's the easiest explanation is that the usb cable I used to upload the firmware was too long? 6m that is. But it used to work nicely with the a1 firmware on the Uno with the adafruit motor shield. On my last and successful attempt I used a short usb cable and uploaded the firmware from my mac. Also I switched the pins from E1 to X for the stepper drivers but that however, should not interfere with any firmware coms IMHO.

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: September 18, 2016, 08:52
Quote

There was a reason for using E1 instead of X - it was because of some kind of unexpected interference ... with something... sorry I can't remember exactly now.

It is possible to crash the arduino when it runs out of working memory (SRAM - there's only 2k for all the variables at runtime), but that's unusual. It sometimes happens with an UNO.

Other thing to test (if you haven't already sorted it out) is forget about the controller for a moment and use the serial monitor in the arduino IDE on it's own. Baud rate to 57600, tick to send line endings. Try typing in one of the commands in your queue, "C32,0.8,END" for instance, and see what it does.

If it does nothing - that is, it just stops communicating with you - then there's something very wrong. This is a test to see if it's a polargraphcontroller issue, I guess.

sn

Larque
Newbie
Posts: 7
Permalink
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: May 11, 2017, 11:12
Quote

Hi, same issue here. But different message. It was stuck in: BUSY: C02,0.8,END. Now it changed, and its stuck in the one that shows the image bellow. Ready_200 appears in the Arduino IDE and in the polargraphcontroller before I click to un-pause the queue. Image

Using mac os x Sierra 10.12.4 macbook pro 13"
Polargraph version 2017-05-10.zip
Tried also in windows 8 thruough VMware without success the same result.
PolargraphSD bought last month.
Sending C02,0.8,END through Arduino IDE does nothing either. Or what should I be able to see in the monitor? It appears nothing and after a little Ready_200 appears again.

This is the Arduino Monitor messages:
POLARGRAPH ON!
v1.4
Hardware: POLARSHIELD
Servo 9
Loaded machine width:1172
Loaded machine height:1400
Loaded mm per rev:95.00
Loaded motor steps per rev:200
Loaded motor step multiplier:1
Loaded machine name:PGXXABCD
Loaded down pos:187
Loaded up pos:70
penWidth: 0.00
Recalc mmPerStep (0.47), stepsPerMM (2.11)
Recalc pageWidth in steps (2467)
Recalc pageHeight in steps (2947)
Card failed, or not present
Autostart file couldn't be opened: AUTORUN.TXT
Released motors
READY_200
READY_200

default.properties.txt
# *** Polargraph properties file ***
#Thu May 11 11:49:58 CEST 2017
controller.pixel.samplearea=10
controller.pictureframe.position.y=760
controller.pictureframe.position.x=760
controller.testPenWidth.startSize=0.5
controller.machine.colour=969696
machine.motors.mmPerRev=95.0
controller.window.width=1170
controller.frame.colour=C80000
controller.image.position.y=713
controller.image.position.x=713
machine.motors.accel=400
controller.image.height=475
controller.machine.serialport=3
controller.window.height=663
controller.maxSegmentLength=2
controller.geomerative.polygonizerLength=1
machine.penlift.up=180
machine.penlift.down=90
controller.page.position.y=252
controller.vector.scaling=100
controller.page.position.x=221
controller.pictureframe.width=380
machine.step.multiplier=8
controller.grid.size=75.0
controller.testPenWidth.endSize=2
controller.pictureframe.height=380
controller.page.colour=DCDCDC
controller.testPenWidth.incrementSize=0.5
controller.image.width=475
machine.motors.stepsPerRev=200.0
machine.pen.size=0.8
controller.page.width=729
controller.pixel.mask.color=00FF00
controller.machine.baudrate=57600
controller.vector.minLineLength=2
machine.width=1172
controller.geomerative.polygonizer=1
controller.page.height=859
controller.vector.position.y=0
controller.background.colour=646464
controller.image.filename=
controller.vector.position.x=0
controller.homepoint.y=120
controller.guide.colour=FFFFFF
machine.motors.maxSpeed=600
controller.homepoint.x=586
controller.density.preview.style=3
controller.pixel.scaling=1
controller.densitypreview.colour=000000
machine.height=1400

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: May 11, 2017, 22:00
Quote

Hi! This seems like an entirely different problem.

One thing - if you have the Arduino IDE open, with the serial port, you won't be able to connect the Polargraph controller.

What you _should_ see when you C02,0.8,END (make sure you have line endings set to "new line") is a response resembling "Changed pen width to 0.8mm", followed by "minimum grid size is ...".

If you don't, something is up. The snippet you posted doesn't ring true either - though I couldn't get your image to load ("web server is down" message).

Pen width is 0.0 in that startup reporting, and step multiplier is 1 as well, so I don't think the machine spec upload has worked entirely.

Can you try something for me please? In the serial monitor, enter C27,END and see what happens. You should see the machine spec being read back to you, full of zeros. Then try the upload machine spec again.

I've had a couple of problems lately with upload machine spec, so I'm working on some improvements to that section, and might ask you to reflash with a new firmware soon!

sn

Larque
Newbie
Posts: 7
Permalink
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: May 12, 2017, 12:43
Quote

Hi! Thanks for your answer.

Did it, sent the C27,END command. Below is the response. The same after a litllte while READY_200 appears again.

READY_200
POLARGRAPH ON!
v1.4
Hardware: POLARSHIELD
Servo 9
Loaded machine width:1172
Loaded machine height:1400
Loaded mm per rev:95.00
Loaded motor steps per rev:200
Loaded motor step multiplier:1
Loaded machine name:PGXXABCD
Loaded down pos:187
Loaded up pos:70
penWidth: 0.00
Recalc mmPerStep (0.47), stepsPerMM (2.11)
Recalc pageWidth in steps (2467)
Recalc pageHeight in steps (2947)
Card failed, or not present
Autostart file couldn't be opened: AUTORUN.TXT
Released motors
READY_200
READY_200
READY_200
READY_200
READY_200

Anything else you want me to try?

1. This is the last Image Image
2. Can't do the Upload Machine specs. Stuck in BUSY: C02,0.8,END
Image

Lrq

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Busy message after initiating controller...
on: May 12, 2017, 23:21
Quote

Hum it looks like there's just nothing working there at all, doesn't it. Have you ever uploaded firmware before? I've just pushed a new firmware update to github:

https://github.com/euphy/polargraph_server_polarshield

So if you are able to compile firmware (read http://www.polargraph.co.uk/setup/polargraphsd-updating-firmware/), give that a try, otherwise you can upload the hex file directly. Download it from here:

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/euphy/polargraph_server_polarshield/master/polargraph_server_polarshield.ino.hex

I use Xloader to update the firmware, but it's a Windows thing. Have a read through https://github.com/euphy/polargraph/wiki/Uploading-precompiled-binary-hex-files and give http://buildaweso.me/project/2014/10/19/uploading-a-hex-file-to-an-arduino-on-a-mac a try for the tool to do the upload if you don't want to play on the command line!

All PolargraphSDs are tested and have firmware and a machine spec uploaded to them before they get packed and sent out, but this isn't the first case of this problem I've had reported recently. What's up. I've got a creeping dread... I don't actively test the USB connection, beyond uploading the firmware... Hmm.

Pages: [1] 2
Mingle Forum by cartpauj
Version: 1.0.34 ; Page loaded in: 0.035 seconds.