Forum

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.





Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Issues with Vector Drawings
literacola
Newbie
Posts: 2
Permalink
Post Issues with Vector Drawings
on: November 8, 2012, 07:41
Quote

Hey geniuses,

Hello, I've recently upgraded my polargraph to 1.2.4 (controller and arduino code). I'm using an Arduino with an Adafruit motor controller and I can't seem to get vectors to draw. I load the vector, it appears to be functioning from the controller's perspective, but the steppers just don't move after hitting "draw vector". I can see the controller moving the gondola from point to point, but physically the 'graph does nothing. This was working with the previous version of code (which I can no longer download). I can draw regular images ok, move pen to point and all that just fine. I thought maybe the vector files I was using were bungled up, but I loaded up a simple vector of a line and the steppers still don't move. Any hints? If nothing else, is there a link to the previous version?

Cheers,
Nick

kongorilla
Pro
Posts: 362
Permalink
kongorilla
Post Re: Issues with Vector Drawings
on: November 8, 2012, 08:42
Quote

Have you tried hitting 'c' to open the console when you're experiencing the problem? It might return a helpful message.

The download page ( https://code.google.com/p/polargraph/downloads/list ) has everything you need, though you might have to change the search parameter from "Current downloads" to "All downloads" (and hit "Search") to see the older versions of the software.

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Issues with Vector Drawings
on: November 8, 2012, 14:20
Quote

Exactly what kong said, when this happens to me it's usually because I've forgotten to set the machine size properly or something silly like that. The machine will send a response to the console saying "this line is outside of your drawable area - skipping it" or somesuch. This is an indication that there is a disagreement about the size it thinks it is, and the size the controller thinks it is.

sn

literacola
Newbie
Posts: 2
Permalink
Post Re: Issues with Vector Drawings
on: November 9, 2012, 00:03
Quote

That did the trick! I didn't even know there was a console to begin with-- sweet! Thanks for all the hard work-- this thing is amazing!

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Issues with Vector Drawings
on: November 9, 2012, 11:56
Quote

Good stuff - happy scribbling!
sn

asgersvend-
sen
Newbie
Posts: 3
Permalink
Post Re: Issues with Vector Drawings
on: February 17, 2013, 00:39
Quote

Hi there. I am experiencing the same problem with the vector drawing as nick did. the machine just don't draw anything. I have tried hitting "c" and it comes up with the same error code every time. I scaled the vector drawing in inkscape to be very small, and my machine is fairly large. So this should not happen 😕 maybe there is something i am missing, but thanks in advance for the reply

Sincerely
Asger

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Issues with Vector Drawings
on: February 17, 2013, 11:09
Quote

Hi there Asger, welcome to the board! Do you get the "this line is outside of your drawable area - skipping it" type message? Can you see your vector drawing in the correct area in the controller? It will only try to draw the lines that you can see on the page. Have you done "upload machine spec"? List of questions 🙂

You shouldn't need to scale your stuff in Inkscape, it can be scaled right there in the controller using resize vector.

I'm not exactly sure what Nick's solution was - I guessed the console messages revealed that the machine setting was wrong, and he re-uploaded, but I don't know.

sn

asgersvend-
sen
Newbie
Posts: 3
Permalink
Post Re: Issues with Vector Drawings
on: February 21, 2013, 09:09
Quote

Hi Sandy i get the "this line is outside your drawable area" message. i Can see the vector drawing in the machine area on the screen (its not outside the page area) . I have tried uploading the specs, and this is where i am getting confused. Because i can draw rendered jpeg images, but the pen is only moving in the controller when im trying to draw vectors

Asger

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Issues with Vector Drawings
on: February 21, 2013, 14:59
Quote

Uploading should synchronise the controller with the physical machine - in terms of size, motor spec etc. Drawing bitmaps is a bit different because that routine is a bit more stupid - it doesn't check to see if it is actually possible to move to the pixel that was commanded, it just tries it regardless.

The vector drawing stuff actually checks to see if it is possible to draw to the point before starting the line, which is why it needs to know the size of the machine.

You could try doing a "download machine spec", which will suck the current spec out of the machine and set the controller to match it. Try that and see if it changes the size in the controller. If it _does_ change then that means that the spec isn't getting loaded correctly, and that needs a closer look.

Let me know how you get on,

sn

brownjd
Newbie
Posts: 7
Permalink
Post Re: Issues with Vector Drawings
on: July 9, 2014, 05:36
Quote

I'm getting a different error when I try to load any one of several known good vector files:

Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NullPointerException
	at geomerative.RSVG.toShape(RSVG.java:130)
	at geomerative.RG.loadShape(RG.java:242)
	at polargraphcontroller$6.run(polargraphcontroller.java:1098)
	at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:209)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(EventQueue.java:715)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.access$400(EventQueue.java:82)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(EventQueue.java:676)
	at java.awt.EventQueue$2.run(EventQueue.java:674)
	at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
	at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(AccessControlContext.java:86)
	at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:685)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:296)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:211)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:201)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:196)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:188)
	at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:122)

Anyone know what's going on?

sandy
Administrator
Posts: 1317
Permalink
sandy
Post Re: Issues with Vector Drawings
on: July 9, 2014, 23:03
Quote

Looks like something Geomerative is finding difficult to swallow - the error is bubbling up out of a call in geomerative.RSVG.toShape(). I believe it's quite unusual to find an SVG parser that is capable of handling all files flawlessly, but I also imagine that Geomerative's SVG handling is probably not very "full featured" - it isn't Geomerative's core business.

The few SVG issues I've been able to solve have normally boiled down to simplifying the structure of the file - decompose all compound paths into single ones, break all groups, that kind of thing.

Good luck!
sn

dchas
Newbie
Posts: 8
Permalink
dchas
Post Re: Issues with Vector Drawings
on: August 25, 2014, 08:26
Quote

confirm. You have to get the settings first otherwise it will not move

Pages: [1]
Mingle Forum by cartpauj
Version: 1.0.34 ; Page loaded in: 0.026 seconds.